CAC & Task Force

History of MTRP Citizens’ Advisory Committee

Shortly after the Mission Trails Task Force was created, they in turn created the Citizens' Advisory Committee (CAC) as an advisory group to the Task Force to provide community input and a presumed consensus of the interested community groups. Subsequently, members of the Citizens' Advisory Committee identified the need for a fund-raising body to support the park and in 1988 three members of the CAC created the Mission Trails Regional Park Foundation.

The Citizens' Advisory Committee is chaired by Dorothy Leonard. Other members include Dick Murphy, Vice Chair; Nancy Acevedo; Michael Pent; Marilyn Reed representing Navajo Community Planners; Richard Gadler representing City of El Cajon; David Lipson representing San Diego State University; Mickey Zeichick representing San Carlos Area Council; Betty Ogilvie representing Tierrasanta Community Council; Roger Utt representing County of San Diego Parks Advisory Committee; David Boyer, representing MCAS Miramar; Kin Searcy representing the Scripps Ranch Civic Association, Carol Lockwood representing City of La Mesa, and Kevin Loomis representing MTRP User Groups. Committee alternates include Terry Cords for San Carlos Area Council, Michele Greenburg-McClung for City of La Mesa, and Rich Thesing for Tierrasanta Community Council.

The Citizens' Advisory Committee normally meets the first Tuesday of even numbered months (January, March, May, July, September, November) at 6:30 PM at the Mission Trails Regional park Visitor Center. When a local, state or nation election, or a major holiday, falls on the first Tuesday the meeting date is either moved forward or back one week. Meeting dates are published on the CAC/Task Force page on this web site. All meetings are open to the public.

More articles: